Graveyards of Illinois: Home
Rosehill Cemetery and Mausoleum

At 350 acres, Rosehill is the largest cemetery in the City of Chicago. It is also one of the oldest, established in February of 1859 with the first burial that same month. The name "Rosehill" resulted from a mapmaker's error - the area was previously called "Roe's Hill", named for nearby tavernkeeper Hiram Roe. [AIA 1993]

Rosehill is west of the Metra tracks that parallel Ravenswood Avenue. The larger and older portion of the cemetery is south of Peterson; to the north is a smaller section that permits only lawn-level markers.

The cemetery was landscaped by William Saunders. Its prominent features include an entrance gate of Joliet limestone, designed by William Boyington; a Romanesque chapel by Joseph Silsbee; and the city's largest public mausoleum, by Sidney Lovell. [AIA 1993]

Rosehill includes, among other attractions, the graves of numerous Chicago mayors (including Long John Wentworth), Civil War generals and soldiers, and Charles Gates Dawes, Vice President of the United States. Household names such as Oscar Mayer, Montgomery Ward, and Richard Sears are interred here as well.

The climactic scene of the movie Next of Kin was filmed at Rosehill, with a gunfight taking place in the area west of the chapel. The funeral scene in Backdraft takes place at the Volunteer Firefighter's Monument at Rosehill, but was actually filmed elsewhere using a replica of this monument. Lulu Fellowes (the girl in the glass box) also appeared in the film U.S. Marshals.

Much of the information here was provided by David Wendell, formerly historian and archivist at Rosehill.

View Data

Main Gate

Abandoned stairs

Charles J. Hull

Major General Thomas Ransom

Civil War Soldiers

Our Heroes

General Benjamin Sweet

Artillery Company

A Child

Mayor Buckner Morris

Senator Charles Farwell

Frances Pearce - Mother and Daughter

Mayor Harvey Doolittle Colvin

Mayor John A. Roche

Mayor John Rice

Leonard Volk

Mayor Levi Boone

Mayor Alexander Loyd

A Buck

Two Dogs

A road in southern Rosehill

Hart Mausoleum

Charles H. Schwab

The Seeberger Family

Stern-Dreyfus Monument

Stone Couch




Mattie May

Mayor Lester Bond

Norman Harris

E.A. Fisher

Windsor Mausoleum

Darius Miller

Vice President Charles Gates Dawes

Gothic Mausoleum

Horatio N. May Chapel

Chapel Side Door

Governor William Stratton

Hinckley and Schmitt

Adam Schaaf

Celtic Cross

Oscar Mayer

Lulu Fellows

Mayor DeWitt Cregier

Mayor Isaac Milliken

Mayor Roswell Mason

Volunteer Fireman's Memorial

Mayor Augustus Garrett

Frances Willard


Governor and General John Beveridge

Mail Train

Mayor George B. Swift

Mayor "Long John" Wentworth

The Rock of Chicamauga

Mayor John Haines
Rosehill Mausoleum

Rosehill Mausoleum

Governor Richard Ogilvie

Governor Dwight Green

Aaron Montgomery Ward

Richard Warren Sears

Rosehill Mausoleum, Entry Corridor

Above the Main Entrance

John G. Shedd Chapel - Copyright 1996-2010 Matt Hucke